Progress.

Image

From my in-progress Safari West album. Most of the digital kit is from Menagerie Bundle By Studio Sherwood (http://shop.scrapbookgraphics.com/Menagerie-Bundle.html). Bits and pieces from DesignerDigitals.com. Fonts: Garamond, CK Ali’s Writing. Photos by me.

I’m making progress in some things. My focus/goals this week (and last week) were to keep working on the Safari West day-trip album I’m creating for my in-laws. I don’t have any hard deadlines for finishing so I’ve been averaging a layout or two a day, which is fine with me. I’ve found that when I try to rush through something like this, I make mistakes and end up hating the results. I’d rather take lots of little breaks for walks or to do something else for a bit. Scrapbooking stays fun that way. If I pushed myself with layouts and deadlines, I’d hate scrapbooking.

Workout-wise my progress has been stagnant. I feel like I’m missing some enjoyment with getting sweaty – Not that I’ve ever been a girl that liked being sweaty and gross. I’m thinking that February will see me going back to the gym. I’ve been putting it off because I’d rather just workout at home and get it over with, but, if I’m honest, I’ve missed the stairmaster and the row machines. But at the gym are annoying people talking on their cell phones too loud or leaving their gear in the aisles. And I have to get in the car and drive there. I’ve still been working out 5 to 6 days a week and getting in a good long walk in the afternoons, but I’m getting bored with my DVD collection and think I need to change it up a bit. I’ve added more yoga to my workouts… even on days I don’t feel like taking the time, I always feel so much better after I finish a practice. Now, if I could only feel that way the rest of the workout, I’d be almost loving it.

I’ve even managed some progress in the kitchen. (I am not someone who loves cooking or baking or being in the kitchen at all. I know how to cook I just don’t want to do it. There I said it.) But I cooked twice this week, on the same day! (Go me!) On Wednesday, I made myself black bean soup from scratch for lunch. It was pretty good but I tweaked the recipe with a bunch of spices, probably should have taken notes. I think next time I’ll puree it longer to break up the bean skins more but overall it turned out good. I also made a three-bean chili for Thursday night. The recipe suggested letting the chili sit for a day for the flavors to meld and, I think, it made a difference in the end product. DH gave it his approval, which is good because he was concerned when I told him it was vegetarian and  there’s quite a bit leftover. If he hadn’t liked it, I’d be having it for lunch everyday for about two weeks. Probably freezes well though. Hm.

Leave a Reply

