Do.

Image

Leo Kit from Miniature Rhino.

Since the start of the month, I’ve been focusing more on actually following through with stuff that I wanted to do or try or use. I have quite a collection of things just sitting around because I’m afraid to ruin, waste or mess something up. I finally realized that I was missing the point and decided to make myself open those boxes and start playing. I have a mental ultimatum when we move I had better have opened the box or it’s going to the thrift store. No excuses accepted. (Except for our wedding china because we don’t have a place to put it and I’m not kidding.)

Image

Leo Kit from Miniature Rhino. (Before!)

First to go was the Leo Kit from Miniature Rhino (an Etsy store) that my best friend M sent me for my birthday last summer. Yes, it’s been sitting in its package looking forlorn and unloved since then. My reasoning was simple: I would suck at this. Then I thought, of course, it might sort of suck because I haven’t embroidered anything since I was in Girl Scouts – a long time ago, but that’s not the point. I really wanted this kit and there I was not using it. What’s the point of asking for something and hoarding it until I was ready for perfect? Perfection just doesn’t exist. If it does, I have yet to make its acquaintance.

Along with the screen printed fabric, he kit came with a piece of black fabric for practice, a 4-inch embroidery hoop, needle and skein of floss. I had some problems getting any sort of french knot but thanks to Google I found a fabulous video From the World of Cross Stitching on YouTube that helped me figure out my french knot-making issues. (Go Me!)

Is it perfect? No. You can see for yourself that my first attempt at embroidery in adulthood was far from perfect, but I had a fabulous time doing it and wasn’t that the whole reason for the gift to begin with? (The correct answer is YES!).

I’ve spent the last few weeks playing with all sorts of other hoarded presents with mixed results but I’ve enjoyed every mistake. I was having too much fun to stop and blog about it.

I’ll be sharing some of the other projects later. Off to mess stuff up now.

Leave a Reply

