Welcome, Fall!

Now, I don’t even want to think how long it’s been since my last post.

Never fear! I have loads of fabulous excuses  (hm…) reasons, I mean, why I haven’t been around or have updated my blog lately.

I guess I should start at the beginning. In May, my family finally decided on where and when we were all meeting up for a family reunion in August. Since DH was coming with me, we decided Newport, RI, where my older sister M went to college but none of us had visit in about 10 years and DH had never been. Everything was set up and we bought our tickets from SFO to RI while my family planned on driving up from PA (about 6 hours.) DH and I would have driven too if it was at all possible – because flying sucks. Unless you can afford first class.

Around this time, my oldest and dearest friend decided that it was finally time for her to visit me in CA. I mean, I’ve only lived here for 13 years so you don’t want to rush these decisions right? She told me she was committed and booked her flights for September within two days of our my recent “I’m thinking about visiting conversations”. All well and good… but –

Recently (you know, this past spring? Remember that? I barely do…), I mentioned that DH and I were house hunting. Here in CA, the whole house buying process has been crazy. As of July, we’d been looking for over a year and had bid on four different homes. We lost out on three and pulled out of the third while negotiations between our realtor, sellers’ realtor and another interested party.  We were just about to take a breather when we found a two homes we liked and another our relator suggested we tour. So we did. It wasn’t love at first sight but we liked the layout and the neighborhood seemed great… The kitchen was eh but with appliances would be liveable for a few years. So, we submitted bid #5 in the never-ending house hunt search.

Unbelievably (or maybe predictably, since we were getting close to vacation), we got it. We had one day to decide if we wanted it because the house was scheduled to hit the market with its realtors’ open house the next day. Ack. We debated for hours and then figured what the hell and said Yes!

Then we started the craziness that is inspections and all that fun stuff. Luckily, everyone said the house (built in the 60s) was solid. No issues except a very dirty chimney that took two cleanings to get passed by the assessor.

We left for vacation with my family in Newport while the paper work for the mortgage was still going through. We had sent everything the mortgage broker requested but still found several requests waiting for us when we got home for additional stuff. Talk about added stress.

We finally closed on the house the day before my birthday. And I got the keys the same day, Aug. 21! Of course, the key wouldn’t work because there wasn’t enough drama with the whole process. DH finally jimmied the door where we found the latch wasn’t a nice clean circle, more like a mashed oval so we did some quick maintenance on that so we could get back in the next day and headed home.

The end of August was figuring out paint colors and actually painting (with lots of help from my mother in law) before I started packing the apartment so we could move in September. Once we were officially in the house, I had to clean the apartment so we could get our deposit back. DH’s parents came down to help. Then I had to unpack everything so my friend M wouldn’t have to worry that stacks of boxes might land on her while she was sleeping. Her flight arrived a week after we moved. No pressure or anything.

Luckily, she had a great time doing the SF tourist thing and I managed to finish her quilt before we moved… although I need to fix a few spots that frayed when I washed it.

So, now that life is settled in a bit and we’re back to just us. Now, if I could only find an interesting part time job. Ah well.

Off I go to finish the laundry.

Leave a Reply

